Oh Mother, Oh Moon

 

 

Oh mother oh moon in the dark of the night

I hear your howls, I see your tears shinning bright

Moon beams piercing me with a force no one can see

But I feel you in my being, I am you and you are me

Tonight I will howl back to you, let my voice send shivers abound

Tonight I will dance for you, Whirling about like a merry go round

Tonight I will gather from the unknown realms

The witches and wizards whom heal sacred grounds

In your full moon light you will see them shine bright

Releasing their magic, keepers of the night

My denuded being reflecting to you

the powerful paleness that makes you, you

My bumps and my bruises, my wounds deep with pride

Soak up that sweet nectar your moon beams provide

Opalescent moon dew, rejuvenate my soul

Sending me off down that ole rabbit hole

Come morning awakened by the dawns early sun

Your faintness still lingers, a lover on the run

Wanning and waxing until we are one.

 

 

February’s full moon is referred to as the Snow moon by many Native American tribes.

You may also hear it referred to as the Trapper’s Moon, Budding Moon, Bony Moon, Little Famine Moon, Moon of the Raccoon, Moon When Trees Pop, Hunger Moon and Storm Moon. These are all names from different tribes and cultures around the world.

The naming of the moons originates from cultures who do or did not follow the Julian or Gregorian calendar system (most specifically Native Americans). They track time through the seasons and the lunar cycles. As you will notice most of the lunar names listed relate to snow, the start of spring, or trapping. Depending on where you are at in the world, February can either be a time of many snow storms or it can be the beginning of spring where the ground starts to melt and the seeds start stirring beneath Earth’s surface. February was also seen as the best time to catch beaver, fox, and mink as their fur is fullest this time of year.

As the new moon is a time to plant our seeds and cultivate our manifestations for the upcoming moon cycle, the full moon is a time of culmination. It is when her energy and power is at its peak. The full moon light in all her glory illuminates the things in our lives that are holding us back from reaching our full potential. She Illuminates the aspects of our lives that are no longer serving us She brings to focus that which we need to let go of.

Representing a time of death or change, releasing our shadows during the full moon allows room for the seeds planted during the new moon to blossom.

 

In the past few months I have been considering different Moon rituals and ceremony’s. There is so much information on the internet today it can be a bit overwhelming when researching such a topic. I found myself coming across many rituals that were all very similar but unique in their own way.

So how do you choose?

For starters, always remember there is no right or wrong way to communicate and call upon the moon. Her force is with us always controlling the tides of the ocean, and controlling the tides of our lunar cycles. She is a part of us and we are a part of her.

 

I feel it is important to foster your personal relationship with the moon. We are all different… We tune into energy in our own ways, we give and receive in our own ways, we communicate in our own ways so find what works for you.

The one universal aspect of all rituals I have found is creating your sacred place to perform the ritual, as well as writing down what it is that you need to let go of and burning it during your ceremony.

Aside from those two things do what works for you!

Create a sacred place that contains your power tools… Your favorite crystals, your favorite candles, your favorites essential oils and incense, music, tarot cards, singing bowls or bells, sacred herbs to be smoked or burned etc.

For me personally my sacred space is my altar and meditation zone. It is the space I spend my waking minutes at as well as the minutes leading to sleep each night…

Here is an overview of my personal full moon ritual…

  1. Preparing my space: because my altar is always set up, for me my preparation includes writing on a piece of paper what it is I am letting go of, pouring a glass of water (to put burned paper in), rolling a joint with marijuana and lavender, lighting my incense, applying essential oils, lighting my candles and smudging myself, my altar and my tarot cards with sage.

Some say that white candles and crystals as well as lavender and frankincense are best, as white represents lunar power and the scents are associated with the moon, but again I say use whatever speaks to you (to me that is what will be most powerful).

 

I then smoke the first half of my joint as I clear my head space and begin imagining the moons light shining down through the top of my head and spreading throughout my entire being.

 

  1. Prayer: I begin with three Oms as I feel it ignites my inner power and I then recite a prayer, chant or poem (as some may call it). The prayer I now use is one I wrote during last month’s Wolf Moon which is written at the start of my post…
  2. Tarot: Shuffling my Angle Oracle cards, I call upon them to connect with the lunar energy surrounding me and focus on what it is I am letting go off. I ask my cards to guide me in moving on from those things. I then lay a past, present, future spread. I interpret the cards as follows:
  • Past: energies that have been let go of or that need to be put in the past
  • Present: where you are at in your spiritual journey, what energy you hold within yourself to guide you
  • Future: the energy the full moon is guiding you with
  1. Release: After my reading I then read aloud the words I have written on my paper and with each thing to let go of I finish with “Be Gone”. I then burn the paper, placing it in the glass of water as it nears the end. If I am really feeling it, at this time I will let out some howls to the moon!
  2. Closing: I then smudge myself and my altar again with sage as I feel it aids in the release of what was written on paper, ridding yourself of any lingering energy that may not have burned in the fire. I then smoke the second half of my joint while I express gratitude to my angles, my spirits and of course Mama de La Lune

 

As you become more comfortable and confident in your Moon rituals, tuning into the astrological aspects of the moons location and energy will amplify your ceremony and results.

For example, this snow moon is at 22 degrees in Leo which opens up unhealed wounds and past hurts while igniting our inner lioness allowing us the courage and strength to heal those wounds and charge forward.

leao3

 

Again, this is my personal ritual/ ceremony. Find what works for you… do some research try out some different approaches… All in all let your inner witch shine through and connect with our lovely moon for she will heal, amplify and ignite your life force.

… A few of my recent moon paintings… (sorry for all the low quality pictures, I will soon have a better camera!!)

Thanks for Reading! Happy Full Moon!!!!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

